ballad

March 18, 2011

restless heart
hates the body that it’s trapped in
hates the way that people pass it by
their eyes turned away
restless mind
full of dreams it never ventured
full of unfulfilled potential gone to waste
and too many lost days

in the summer i
pray your heart will fly
with the wind riding high across the sea
and when august comes
you will find your home
and with fondness hold your memories of me
and wish me peace

wounded soul
tries to wipe away the tears of
the gone and broken years of regret
full of fractured bones
wounded pride
feeling gunshy and afraid since
the day he opened up and let her know–
she sent him back alone

every winter i
curse the northern sky
when i think of who i used to be
and the wasted years
and the squandered tears
and the pain i gave the ones who carried me
through darker seas

free your love
from the shackles of my humours
i’m full of ancient rumors and reports
always out of sorts
free your hands
clasped so tightly to my fingers
it’s not good for you to linger here
i’ll be fine, my dear

one day i’ll break loose
from the chains i choose
and pursue the joy i’ve yet to see
and in freedom sweet
i’ll be made complete
as i take hold of my promised destiny
a stronger me

One Response to “ballad”

  1. This is lovely. Kind of Foreman-esque. Needs to be put to music.

Leave a comment